Students celebrate at Teesside University’s 2017 Journalism Awards

The Journalism Award winners pictured with host John Sergeant

Veteran journalist and broadcaster John Sergeant  presented  talented students with prizes at Teesside University’s  annual Journalism Awards.

The event, which was sponsored by EDF Energy,  took place  at the Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (mima) and  journalism students received awards based on exceptional work produced during the past academic year.

Winners were commended for the skills learnt on the BA (Hons) Journalism and Multimedia Journalism degree courses.

Among the awards were News Reporter of the Year, Best Feature Writer and Blogger of the Year.

Prizes included a number of work placements with The Gazette, The Northern Echo and The Hartlepool Mail along with work experience at Sky Sports News, The Sun’s Fabulous Magazine; The i; Global FM; BBC Tees and the new TV station Made in Teesside.

A number of special academic awards were also given out, including the NCTJ Prize, for the student with the highest overall marks while training for the National Council of Journalism qualifications.

John started his journalism career as a correspondent for the Liverpool Echo where he worked for around three years before joining the BBC as a radio reporter in 1970.

He joined the international desk, covering stories in over 25 countries.

He then worked as a war reporter in Vietnam and Israel and reported the death of the first British soldier during the Troubles in Northern Ireland.

He later covered the opening sessions of the European Parliament and became a Political Correspondent in 1981.

Having progressed through newspaper, radio and television journalism, he became the BBC’s Chief Political Correspondent from 1992 until 2000.

In 2000, he joined ITN as Political Editor before retiring  in 2002.

Since his retirement John has appeared on television programmes such as Have I Got News for You;  The One Show and most notably Strictly Come Dancing.

John Sergeant who hosted the 2017 awards at mima.

Jonathan Brown, Senior Lecturer in Journalism at Teesside University’s School of Design; Culture and the Arts, said:  “These awards recognise the hard work and excellent calibre of our current journalism students and the students were thrilled to be awarded their prizes by John Sergeant.”

“I would like to thank all of the media organisations who generously contributed prizes to this celebration of our students’ achievements and especially our main sponsors  EDF Energy.”

Students and staff also paid a special  tribute to Shorthand teacher Dawn Johnston who is retiring this year from  Teesside University.

Shorthand teacher Dawn Johnston receives a gift of flowers as a thank you from both students and staff.



John Sergeant with Martyn Butlin from EDF Energy who sponsored the event at mima.


Below is a list of the winners

NCTJ Prize, sponsored by NCTJ and the Daily Mail .  Winner  Emily Conyard

Blogger of the Year – sponsored by Teesside University’s

Winner:    Izak Boyes-Jackson           

 Content Producer of the Year –  Sponsored by The Creative Alchemist

Winner:  Frankie Ahmed                   

Feature Writer, sponsored by The Northern Echo

Winner: Alex Watson

Multimedia Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Evening Gazette

Winner: Courtney Mc Carten

Community Reporter of the Year, sponsored by Hartlepool Mail

Winner: Lucy Tyreman

Sky Sports News Award

Winner: Josh Frankland

Lifestyle Reporter, sponsored by Fabulous Magazine

Winner: Beth Hughes

Entertainment Reporter, sponsored by NE Volume

Winner:  Jake Graham

News Reporter of the Year, sponsored by The i newspaper

Winner: Neil Fatkin

Broadcast Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Global FM

Winner: Kristyn Higginson 

Video Journalist of the Year, sponsored by Made in Teesside

Winners: Jack Franks and Dan Bullock

Communications/PR sponsored by Harvey and Hugo

Winner:    Hannah Maloney   

Creative Communications Campaign sponsored by Publicity Seekers.

Winner: Emily Conyard

Outstanding Contribution to Campus Life Award, sponsored by Teesside University

Winners: Sam Bradley; Melissa Major; Eleanor Anderson; Emily Conyard; Jemma Ferguson-Gale; Kristyn Higginson

Award for passing 100wpm shorthand, sponsored by Teesside University

Winner: Courtney McCarten


Ali Brownlee Award – BBC Tees.

Winner: Josh Frankland


Final Project – Sponsored by Visualsoft.

Winner: Miss Represented – Emily Conyard; Jemma Ferguson-Gale; Jessica Dixon and Natasha Ashby.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *